Today, I am a less cool version of BERRRTTMERRN

There is something really nice about donating something, anything infact. But for me, donating blood makes me feel like a hero. I grew it myself and it’s literally a part of me which I’m giving away because I want to. I guess you could say that to an extent I give blood for selfish reasons, because it makes me feel better about myself. It’s amazing to think where the blood goes… Towards research, as a blood transfusion, to Trannsylvania... If you haven’t given blood before, let me talk you through it.

Obviously, you need to make sure you have something to eat first. This is an opportunity that should not be missed, if you feel that in order to save lives you need to break your diet and munch on a gigantic Bourbon, then that is exactly what you should do!

Image

Make sure you get there a little before your appointment booking time. In the waiting area you will always find the usual suspects. Today did not disappoint. They are as follows:

  • The nervy first timers – They fidget and ask questions to anybody that makes eye contact.
  • The veterans – Usually over the age of fifty, they have given blood plenty of times and like to congratulate everyone under the age of thirty for their donations.
  • The glory seekers – They have given enough blood to fill up fifty children and have the certificates to prove it.
  • The Morgan Freeman wannabes – Why the name? They all think they have a good story to tell, but none of them are quite as compelling as Mo’Free.

After a quick finger prick test to make sure you’re not anaemic, it’s off to the chair of doom (I’m really selling it here, aren’t I?). Anybody who tells me that they don’t give blood because they don’t like needles is just making excuses. I have a mild phobia of needles and it’s simple – don’t look. When you look at the tube going a nice shade of red just think… Mmmm… Jam (do not try to eat the ‘jam’. It would be awkward and you may get admitted.).

Whilst in the chair just make pretty starfish shapes with your hand and try not to focus on the fact that you can’t feel your arm. It is not going to drop off, you are not going to die and it will be over before you know it. Next thing, the needles out, plasters on and you are being tended with biscuits and drinks! As a student, this is an opportunity that you cannot pass up. Free food is not something to be sniffed at. If you are offered a ginger snap, you take the damn thing. Like a hamster, you store it in your face until you want it. That’s just the way it works.

If you’re special, they may even give you a sticker…

Image

So yes, today, I can walk around with a glory stroll feeling like Batman, because I have done a good deed. If you’re aged over 17 and don’t want to be A-Negative person (I know, I’m hilarious), why not get yourself down to a donation site and help out? It’s the easiest 1lb that you will ever lose! All the information that you need is at http://www.blood.co.uk/.

As Bruce Almighty would say, that’s how the cookie crumbles!

Until my next brain leak, O&O.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Today, I am a less cool version of BERRRTTMERRN

  1. […] [2] Today, I am a less cool version of Berrrttmerrn, 2013. Inside Evie’s Brain. [blog] Available at: https://insideeviesbrain.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/today-i-am-a-less-cool-version-of-berrrttmerrn/ [Accessed October 24 2013] […]

Leave a Reply

